New Compassionate Allowances for Social Security Disability

As discussed previously in this blog, Compassionate Allowances Conditions are those medical conditions where the nature of the disease or condition meets the statutory standard for disability. A claimant with a diagnosis of a Compassionate Allowance conditions benefits from a quicker decision and award of benefits. These types of claims are “fast-tracked” for a decision.

Compassionate Allowances were first recognized in 2008 with a list of 50 conditions, but has quickly grown and the total is now 113. The Administration continues to focus on research initiatives that will allow them to add more conditions to the Compassionate Allowances list and get those claimants with the most serious conditions their benefits faster.

The new Compassionate Allowances conditions are:

Malignant Multiple Sclerosis Aortic Atresia
Paraneoplastic Pemphigus Eisenmenger Syndrome
Multicentric Castleman Disease Endomyocardial Fibrosis
Pulmonary Kaposi Sarcoma Heart Transplany Graft Failure

Heart Transplant Wait List-1A/1B Hypoplastic Left Heart Syndrome
Primary Effusion Lymphoma Angelman Syndrome
Lewy Body Dementia Lowe Syndrome
Corticobasal Degeneration Multiple System Atrophy
Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Mitral Valve Atresia
The ALS/Parkinsonism Dementia Complex Primary Cardiac Amyloidosis

Pulmonary Atresia Single Ventricle

Left Ventricular Assist Device (LVAD) Recipient

Attorney Jennifer J. Allen is an associate attorney with Alan C. Olson & Associates, S.C. If you have any questions about Social Security Disability, please contact her at [email protected].


FindLaw Network